Slimming World…will or won’t-power

I’m relatively new to the Slimming World journey – joining July 2016, I lost 3.5st really quickly (I had a lot to lose…wait I HAVE a lot to lose!) – it took me just 3 months, but then I lost focus and just couldn’t get my mind back in the right place.

So now I’m trying to get back on track. I have good days (and not so good days!), I’m following lots of other blogs of amazing people who have stuck to it and have fantastic recipes for us all to follow – I’ll link to these later – and I’m just aiming to become healthier and fitter – I’m fed up of feeling sluggish, tired and irritable because of the things I eat!

So what is it with this magical plan on which us ten tonne Tessies can lose 9 and a half stone in 6 months (and have the bat wings and turkey necks to prove it!) Well I’m still not sure:

  • the plan talks about the importance of speed foods to fill you up – I get that.
  • It explains that syns are important to remind your body it’s not being deprived – I get that.
  • It even goes into detail about what you put into your body being the crucial factor in weight loss and there’s less of an emphasis on moving about (except for a bit of “body magic”) – I guess I get that.
  • You’re even allowed to eat an unlimited amount of carbs (well, certain carbs and until you’re ‘full – err hello do they not know me??? As if my brain understands the word ‘full’) – I’m not so sure I get that!

Still, it seems so easy!

So why is it so hard? I think it’s boredom that plays a big part for me, oh and time!

What? I hear you say, time – what the hell is time? It’s that circle that ticks round when you’ve got Bing on pause on Sky + because your toddler’s about to do a tiddle on the floor or the period before bath time when you’re wrestling the Toot Toot cars out of your threenager’s hands while simultaneously wanting to punch Iggle Piggle’s lights out because he’s not in bed, AGAIN, which makes running around the living room trying to find a red ‘blankie’ all the more appealing to be more like “Iggie Piggie”.

Anyway, back to Slimming World; I’ve found you need to invest a fair amount of time to research recipes you want to cook (and that the hubby and little dude will want to eat!) if you don’t want to fall into the trap of eating the same 5-10 meals – eat, sleep, repeat – right?! I don’t have that time! I also don’t have a massive amount of time to cook said meals, not when some of them take 60 minutes – who has 60 minutes spare with a little one running round the house in his green underpants, pretending to be Superman while wanting the giant yellow chef’s knife to ‘help’ you cut the mushrooms? NOT I!

Still, those aforementioned amazing people I mentioned earlier whose blogs have inspired me and supported me in making some fab meals have helped no end. I especially love:

 

  • Two Chubby Cubs – 2 great guys – the wit cracks me up (no pun intended!)
  • Fat Girl Skinny – lovely down to earth realism of the ups and downs of SW
  • Slimming Eats – great meals and extremely inspirational Brit living in Canada

I guess one of the biggest things I like about Slimming World is the flexibility in being able to eat a relatively balanced diet with anything (in moderation….or should I say syneration!) a possibility. It’s the first plan I’ve really been able to stick to for a more sustained period of time, mainly because it doesn’t really feel like a plan, just a lifestyle you have to get used to, which let’s face it losing weight should really be all about (I think?!?!) I’ve done enough yo-yo dieting over the last 20 years!

It’s also great that you don’t have to weigh or measure foods (well, mostly – just the odd 40g of cereal or the daily 300ml of 1% milk – see I know my stuff!) And with the exception of a few syns (I want to say 5-15 though I hate to admit, some days 15 seems like a distant memory), you don’t actually have to count anything!

Yep – I’ve been there, weighing strawberries to ‘count calories’ – it got me nowhere! (Image Source)

So now for the downside…the hard stuff, the crushing disappointment of realising that the 3 aspartame-filled Mullerlights that you shovelled down your neck at 10:30pm might be syn-free but how filing are they? And how HEALTHY are they? There are a lot of syn-free foods recommended on the plan but so many of them I just can’t make peace with, partly because they’re full of a fair bit of artificial ‘stuff’. And when a recipe for ‘fakeaway’ KFC uses Smash as an alternative to breadcrumbs, you know you’ve strayed off the healthy lifestyle path. Still, I was listening to Dr Ranj on This Morning the other day who said the good research states artificial crap isn’t so bad for you (I’m not so sure those were his exact medical terms but that pretty much sums it up!)

So…I guess it comes down to personal choice and having the willpower to choose healthy choices, to half fill my plate with the good stuff, to only eat one Freddo (just 5 syns!) instead of three! When it comes to will or won’t power, I’ll keep trying to ‘will’ myself on!

Leave a Reply

